Started up a Brand New Day…

Turn the clock to zero, boss
The river’s wide, we’ll swim across
Started up a brand new day.

~ Sting

So, it’s a New Year.  Feel any different?  I don’t, except that once again everyone (myself included) is making all kinds of promises of which we all know only a small percentage will withstand.  But, hey, we can all hope, right?  🙂

I was thinking about all this yesterday, and wondering why we all wait until January 1st of the new year to make resolutions?  Afterall, every day is a new day, we can start over the minute we decide to make changes, instead of allowing ourselves a Stag/Stagette period of inconsequential actions.  Well, figuratively speaking.  That 15lbs of holiday eating isn’t any easier to burn off in the new year than the weight we had already planned to lose, we must be mentally hard-wired to cause make-work projects.  My only logical explanation is that if it’s on the 1st day of the new year, it is very easy for us to keep track of how long we made it before we fell off the proverbial wagon.  We all live such busy lives that for me, I have a hard time keeping track of what we had for breakfast and what day it is today.  I suppose it makes things less complicated in that respect.  I dunno.  As I said, my thoughts need an outlet.  🙂

So, if you’ve made resolutions, as have I, congratulations and best wishes that you make it past the three month mark, if not to the end of the year.  My facebook status is: “The first step towards getting somewhere is to decide that you are not going to stay where you are.”

In the spirit of being accountable:

Resolution #1 – Say “Please” instead of barking commands at my kids.  “Woof.”

Resolution #2 – Get rid of (aka EAT) all the junk food in the house and don’t bring in any more.  (snicker, giggle…)

Resolution #3 – Don’t be so hard on myself.  First action: Don’t worry too much about #1 and #2.

Have a great year!

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

