Gutter Parenting

I can’t help but look at my husband sometimes to see his reaction to things my kids say, to make sure I’m not the only one who is always living in the gutter and having inappropriate visuals at times.

My Youngest Daughter got a stuffed animal Christmas tree ornament from her Auntie as part of a goodie bag for Christmas.  I didn’t pay much attention to it, it was brown and furry, I assumed it was a bear and went on with stuffing my face with yummy dinner and dessert and second dessert.  In the car on the way home, in the darkness, she dropped it on the floor and it got soaked from the now melted snow from her boots.  I told her to hang it up on the hook above the door and let it dry.  A few minutes later, out of complete silence came this:

Her: Mom I have a beaver.

Me (Trying not to laugh): What?

Her: A beaver.  I have a beaver.

Me: What do you mean you have a beaver?!

Her: There (pointing at said animal) it’s a beaver.

Me: (looking at my husband and noticing he’s silently laughing so hard, which also makes me laugh out loud.) Oh.  Okay.

a few minutes later:

Her: My beaver is getting dried out.

Me: (bust out laughing, as is hubby)

Her: Why is that so funny?

Me: Nothing, I just thought it was a bear.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

